OOCUR Elects RIC for 2017-2018 Chairman



The Organisation of Caribbean Utility Regulators (OOCUR) has elected the Regulated Industries Commission (RIC) in Trinidad and Tobago as its chairman for the 2017-2018 year.

Renowned lecturer and Commissioner of the RIC Mr. Clayton Blackman has been selected to represent the Commission on the Executive Council.

The Office of Utilities Regulation (OUR) which had been chairman for the 2016-2017 year was elected Deputy Chairman.

Other members of the Executive Council elected at the Fifteenth Annual Conference convened at the Magdalena Grand Resort in Tobago between November 8 and 10, 2017, were the Independent Regulatory Commission in Dominica, the Fair Trading Commission in Barbados and the Utilities Regulation and Competition Authority in The Bahamas.

The 2017 conference which was organized by the RIC and saw more than one hundred persons registering and presenters from the Caribbean,  Europe and the United States.

The theme for the conference was "Balancing the Interests - Lessons from Caribbean Regulators".


  • To assist in the improvement of utility regulation.
  • To foster transparent and stable utility regulation through autonomous and independent regulators in member countries.
  • To undertake research, training & development.
  • To facilitate understanding of regulation issues and sharing of information and experience.

OOCUR INC. is a non-profit organisation, established by an Agreement dated July 26, 2002 in Ocho Rios, Jamaica, by the following signatories of utility regulators of the Caribbean: Cosbert Manchester Board Member of the Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority, Justice Frank King, GCM, Chairman of the Fair Trading Commission, Barbados,Winston C. Hay, Director General of the Office of Utilities Regulation, Jamaica,Peter Bethe,l Chairman of the Public Utilities Commission, Bahamas, Justice Prem Persaud, CCH, Chairman of the Public Utilities Commission, Guyana, Dr. Patrick Watson, Deputy Chairman of the Regulated Industries Commission, Trinidad & Tobago.

Full Membership of OOCUR is open to regulatory bodies with responsibilities in telecommunications, electricity, natural gas, water and transportation sectors in the Caribbean.

Associate Membership of OOCUR is open to Non-Caribbean utility regulators and associations of utility regulators.