About Us

Organization of Caribbean Utility Regulators (OOCUR)

OOCUR INC. is a non-profit organisation, established by an Agreement dated July 26, 2002 in Ocho Rios, Jamaica, by the following signatories of utility regulators of the Caribbean:
1. Cosbert Manchester
Board Member of the Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority.
2. Justice Frank King, GCM
Chairman of the Fair Trading Commission, Barbados.
3. Winston C. Hay
Director General of the Office of Utilities Regulation, Jamaica.
4. Peter Bethel
Chairman of the Public Utilities Commission, Bahamas.
5. Justice Prem Persaud, CCH
Chairman of the Public Utilities Commission, Guyana.
6. Dr. Patrick Watson
Deputy Chairman of the Regulated Industries Commission, Trinidad & Tobago.

Purpose & Objectives of OOCUR

To assist in the improvement of utility regulation

To foster transparent and stable utility regulation through autonomous and independent regulators in member countries

To undertake research, training and development

To facilitate understanding of regulation issues and sharing of information and experience.

OOCUR Executive Council Members


Name Organization & Address Position Occupation
Ms. Dela Britton PUC Guyana 106 New Garden St. Georgetown, Guyana Chairperson Attorney at Law
Mr. Clayton Blackman RIC Trinidad & Tobago #37 Wrightson Road Port of Spain, Trinidad Deputy Chairperson University Lecturer
Mr. Ansord Hewitt OUR Jamaica 3 rd Floor, PCJ Resource 36 Trafalgar Road Kingston 10 Jamaica Member Attorney at Law
Mrs. Sandra Sealy FTC Barbados Good Hope” Green Hill St. Michael Barbados Member Chief Executive Officer
Mrs. Keesha Carty PUC Anguilla Telecommunications Information Center, Fair Play Commercial Complex The Valley, Anguilla Member Attorney at Law

The General Assembly

This is the governing body where each constituent member is entitled to send three delegates but one vote. The General Assembly is made up of representatives from the following regulators:

  1. Fair Trading Commission, Barbados
  2. Independent Regulatory Commission, Dominica
  3. Office of Utilities Regulation. Jamaica
  4. Public Utilities Commission, Belize
  5. Public Utilities Commission, Anguilla
  6. Public Utilities commission, Guyana;
  7. Regulated industries commission, Trinidad and Tobago;
  8. Utilities Regulation and Competition Authority, Bahamas;
  9. Telecommunications Regulatory Commission, British virgin islands;
  10. Telecommunications Commission, Turks and Caicos Islands;
  11. Department of Utilities and Energy, Turks and Caicos Islands;
  12. Office of Utilities Regulation and Competition, Cayman Islands